Skip to main content

Nominate Your Faculty for a Teaching Award

Dear School of Communication Student:

I am writing to encourage you to nominate deserving faculty members in the School of Communication for two exciting awards. This is your opportunity to help us to recognize and reward faculty who have enhanced and encouraged your learning, have offered effective mentoring, and have had a positive impact on your life.

The Galbut Award is named after the Galbut family, who generously donated funds to make this award possible. This honor includes a cash award that is presented to a faculty member who has been outstanding in their teaching and in their efforts to engage students both inside and outside the classroom.

The Clarence Simon Award identifies and rewards outstanding teachers and mentors. As many as three faculty members are recognized for outstanding teaching, one from each division of the School of Communication. The three divisions of the school are: Division I (Theatre, including Dance, and Performance Studies); Division II (Radio-Television-Film and Communication Studies); and Division III (Communication Sciences and Disorders). Each award recipient is honored with a commemorative gift and a monetary award. Eligible faculty members are those who hold tenure-track appointments.

To nominate a faculty member for either or both of these awards, please complete the nomination form available online at:

The deadline for nominations is Monday, February 28th, 2022.

Thank you for taking time to help us highlight the contributions that faculty members in the School of Communication have made toward your success as undergraduate students at Northwestern University. Please contact me if you have any questions about the nomination process.


Jeanette A. Ortiz, Ph.D. (she/her/hers)

Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Programs and Advising

School of Communication

Northwestern University